Misogynistic but Funny

July 9, 2012

It’s funny because it’s true.  Louis CK clearly has a history with fucked up women. Wonderfully insightful, but I feel I need to qualify that statement. While it’s funny to say all women are fucked up, the truth is we are talking about a small percentage of women. This relatively small population of women are giving the rest of the population of women a bad name.

Roughly 2% of women suffer from BPD, and 15% lie somewhere on the Cluster B spectrum. But these are rough estimates. From my vantage point, these estimates seem low. How do you take an accurate census of people who are so good at hiding their dysfunction? You can’t. Even therapists miss the signs. BPs are often misdiagnosed with depression or bipolar.

I love women and I hold onto the hope that I will someday meet someone who does not fit in this category of fucked up women. But like Louis, I have had a long history with women who shat in my heart. So while this stand-up bit smacks of misogyny, I feel I have earned my right to laugh out loud.

16 Responses to “Misogynistic but Funny”

  1. savorydish said

    Has anybody else noticed that creative people (musicians, comedians, actors, writers, etc) are attracted to fucked up women? Is it something in the DNA?

    I think it has more to do with survival. Those who have had a lifetime of pain must learn to deal with that pain. Creativity offers cathartic relief. Creativity is a coping-mechanism.

    We have to laugh or we’ll become as miserable as them.

  2. Zee said

    Louis CK’s whole shtick is that he’s a miserable bastard.Take this into account. In his case, I think water seeks its own level.

    But yes . . . it is funny as hell. And he’s not entirely wrong. Plus, I think men need to vent about this stuff and laugh about it. Society really doesn’t want us to do that. At least guy’s like Louis CK can give us an outlet and be funny about it.

    God knows the cluster B women of this world are always cawing about having their own emotional outlets, right?

  3. savorydish said

    The difference is Louis CK is funny. He is miserable, but he is also self-aware. Often, he is making fun of himself. Self-deprecation is always charming because it’s a sign of real confidence.

    The Cawing Bs lack both self-awareness and a sense of humor. They are far too emotionally delicate to poke fun at themselves. They are too busy playing the victim.

    It is good to vent and laugh about your misery, because god forbid you should take yourself as seriously as the Sady Doyles, Stephanie Halletts and the Mina Jades of the world.

    • savorydish said

      And yes, I agree water seeks its own level. Birds of a feather flock together. We are all screwed up to some degree. But in most dysfunctional relationships, there’s always one person way more fucked up than the other person. That is how co-dependent relationships work.

      • savorydish said

        If you believe in evolutionary theory, then it is quite possible that co-dependents were genetically conditioned, over generations and generations, to seek out dysfunctional relationships. Knowing this, you can see why patterns of behavior are so hard to break.

  4. Henley said

    Ahemmm help me out here…this is hilarious…but being a woman and trying to gauge my fucked-up-ed-ness against his scale….can someone give me an example of “shitting inside of your heart”?

    • savorydish said

      Examples are all over this blog. The best example is acting like you love someone, one second. And then acting like their worst enemy, the next.

      • Zee said

        Careful for the troll, Savory . . .

      • savorydish said

        Thanks Zee, but trolls will be trolls. And I would rather take people at face value than develop paranoid tendencies. As long as people are learning, it’s all good.

      • @SavoryDish I am NOT sure if ruar upper post was for me . I don’t recall acting in that fashion .

      • savorydish said

        Don’t worry about it. Like I said, I take everybody at face value. If a troll has nothing better to do than troll, then let them troll. As long as it doesn’t disrupt the blog, it’s all good. I just need you to stay on topic. Thanks.

  5. I wish some one would explain to me. what’s going on.

    • savorydish said

      Sammy,
      I appreciate your contributions and I’m glad this blog has helped you, but I’ve got be honest with you. I’m a little concerned about you. Not because I think you’re a troll, but because I get a lot of manic energy from you. You seem to take comments, made here, very personally and your own comments are often disjointed. I’m not a shrink, but I sense something is not right. IOW, what’s going on with you, my friend?

    • savorydish said

      @sammy
      I understand where your anger is coming from. I’ve been there. You know that. But I think it’s time to examine the extent of your rage. While I encourage people to vent here, I think there’s a point when anger becomes a concern. Your hyper-sensitivity is a sign that you may have some issues you need to get checked out. This is not just about your ex anymore. It’s about issues you may have had before you even met your ex.

      • Well @ Savorydish I am angry but only about a few pointed issues , I well be fine…., I am in control had a great dad that taught me well , my problem is this person put my life in danger and what am I suppose to pay her wolf ass in the head and say oh honey that is ok ..

      • savorydish said

        You’re missing the point, Sammy. You are not fine. You are not in control. You admitted to that earlier today and now you’re changing your story. You are in denial. Your relationships are fucked up for a reason. It behooves yourself to ask why. This blog is not just about raging against BP women. It’s about self-discovery. You will not heal until you start accepting certain unpleasant truths about yourself.

Leave a Reply

