How to Convince A Borderline to Get Help

January 4, 2011

I was just reading a forum thread. The topic was “How to convince someone with borderline personality disorder to get help.” The OP is concerned about a person who is paranoid and delusional, a person who thinks his loved ones are conspiring against him. As expected, most of the other posters suggested there is no helping a person who doesn’t think they have a problem. But then I got to this post:

Having been in a similar situation with an ex-husband and a psychotic daughter, I had them both assessed by agreeing to be assessed myself when they were both convinced that I was the problem. I grabbed the opportunity with both hands, and said ‘I cannot recognise that I have a problem, but if you think I have, will you please take me for assessment and tell the doctor what you see.’
My husband was diagnosed with bipolar, and my daughter was admitted involuntarily to a mental health unit.  They could not then blame me, and while it was never easy, this worked marvellously for us.

LOL. Absolutely brilliant. Usually I don’t approve of trickery, but it was for a good cause. And in the end, troubled loved ones got the help they needed. Sometimes you do need to out-think a person whose mind is a tangled web. A person who is in deep denial will do anything to stay in denial, including pointing the finger at you. It is always easier for a BP to say you’re the crazy one. Because sometimes the truth is too hard to swallow. As Mary Poppins once said, “A spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down”.

Leave a Reply

