Misplaced Anger

July 25, 2010

Earlier this week, a disgruntled commenter expressed outrage over posts about Borderline Personality Disorder. I expected there would be a few people upset by these posts. Sometimes it’s easier for people to assign blame, then it is to deal with the shame and stigma attached to such disorders. But I think talking about it helps to remove those stigmas, which gets more people talking about things that would otherwise be swept under the rug.

For the record, none of these posts are meant to be malicious in anyway. They are not meant to humiliate anyone.  If my posts are unflattering to those who suffer from BPD, it’s because the behavior caused by such disorders can often be unpleasant. BPD can make good people do horrible things. And if talking about stuff like this can help someone realize the harm they are causing, then it might be worth upsetting a few people.

These posts are only intended to raise awareness. The info posted here about BPD and other such topics are not meant to replace a good therapist or common sense. I am only sharing with you my opinions and what I have learned. But don’t take my word as gospel. If you have a loved one who suffers from BPD, I encourage you to do your own research. If you suspect you have BPD, I encourage you to get diagnosed by a therapist who is familiar with BPD. But lashing out at me, doesn’t do anyone any good. And ignoring the problem is only making things worse.

Leave a Reply

